Who we are

Founded in 1991, Gary Bess Associates (GBA) has helped more than 400 private, not-for-profit organizations and public agencies meet their missions and better serve their clients and communities.  GBA’s team of skilled professionals has a history of success delivering specialized consultation services in developing community health assessments, program evaluations, GIS mapping and analysis, community health planning, strategic planning, and funding proposal development.  In 2017, GBA secured more than $95 million in grant awards for our clients.

We specialize in working with Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs) on compliance, Changes in Scope, Operational Site Visit (OSV) preparation, Federal Torts Claims Act (FTCA) applications, and compliance, and progress reporting, including Service Area Competitions (SACs), Budget Period Renewals, and Annual Certifications.

The 2015 round of competitive FQHC New Access Point awards demonstrates GBA’s success. GBA assisted with 28 organizations with all or part of their submitted applications, and 24 were awarded.  In 2016, GBA wrote four of the seven California New Access Point award applications, and all seven were GBA strategic data clients. There were only 75 health centers who were awarded nationally.

Meet Our Staff

Contact our executive staff at 530-877-3426.
We also work with a team of support and assistant staff to complete your projects in a timely and cost-effective manner.
Jim Myers
Director of Evaluation/Research
Jim Myers

Jim@garybess.com
(530) 877-3426

Warren Jensen
Director of Planning/Analytics/GIS
Warren Jensen

Warren@garybess.com
(530) 877-3426 ext. 113

Randy Yates
Director of Grant Management
Randy Yates

Randy@garybess.com
(530) 877-3426 ext. 115

Mike Nichols
Director of Grant Management
Mike Nichols

Mike@garybess.com
(530) 877-3426 ext. 112

Alan Sheckter
Senior Project Manager
Alan Sheckter

Alan@garybess.com
(530) 877-3476 ext. 106

Kate Brice
Project Manager
Kate Brice

kate@garybess.com
(530) 877-3426 ext. 110

Jayne Ragland
HR/Billing/Evaluation Assistant
Jayne Ragland

Jayne@garybess.com
(530) 877-3426 ext. 102

GBA Executive Assistant
Karen Vandenberg

Karen@garybess.com
(530) 877-3426 ext. 104